Florida City, FL – While it has a small population of roughly 12,000, Florida City sees a lot of traffic as it is situated on the road to the Everglades and the Florida Keys. This means many tourists speeding down the road to their holiday destination, tour buses, not to mention commercial vehicles. If you’re ever involved in a serious car accident in Florida City, you need to speak with a seasoned personal injury lawyer, whether you’re a local resident or just visiting.
At the same time, you need to keep in mind that the outcome of any future claim depends on the things you do in the immediate aftermath of the crash. Here are a few tips that will help you win the compensation you deserve.
Don’t admit to any part of the blame for the car accident
Yes, Florida is a no-fault state, but if you want to sue the other party you’ll have to use the comparative negligence rule. The no-fault insurance policy allows car accident victims to recover damages no matter if they are to blame for the collisions. However, if you were injured in the crash, when you file a claim or sue, you’ll have to prove the other driver was responsible for what happened. If you admit to being partly at fault, the insurance adjuster will reduce your damages by a percentage corresponding to your share of the blame.
Don’t forget to call the police
The driver that hit you won’t be so eager to involve the police, but, under Florida law, you must call the Highway Patrol or local law enforcement if:
- The accident results in injuries or death
- It’s a hit and run crash
- The damages to the vehicles appear to be over $500
- The other driver is intoxicated
If none of these apply, you must still file a crash report within 10 days of the accident. With some types of injuries, like spine damage or internal organ damage, the symptoms may become apparent only after a while. If you didn’t file a report, you’ll have no legal basis to seek compensation.
Don’t delay seeing a doctor
Speaking of injuries, see a doctor as soon as possible. If you don’t need to go to the ER, schedule an appointment with your family physician at least. In a personal injury case, your accident lawyers will have to prove that your health issues were caused by the crash.
Don’t talk to the insurance guys
On the one hand, you’re required to notify your insurer of the accident as soon as possible. On the other hand, when you’re in a state of shock, you may say things you don’t mean or things that can be misinterpreted to make you appear at fault. Above all, do not give them any recorded statement.
Don’t accept a settlement without talking to a car accident lawyer
Insurance companies often use this strategy – they know you need money after the accident and they hope you’ll settle for whatever sum they offer. It often works because people don’t have a clear idea what their rights are. Do yourself a favor and ask an experienced car accident lawyer how much your claim may be worth.
If you were recently injured in a car accident caused in the Florida City area, schedule a free consultation with a lawyer at Madalon Law and see how much your claim may be worth.
Fort Lauderdale Office
100 N. Federal Hwy #CU5
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
- Steps to take after an accident in North Miami Beach - November 4, 2022
- Do I have to file a claim immediately after an accident in Daytona Beach? - October 28, 2022
- Who is liable for damages in a Golden Beach boating accident? - October 27, 2022