A 19-year-old Las Cruces resident was recently detained and charged with aggravated DWI after he pulled the emergency brake on his vehicle and crashed into a shed on his property, according to Las Cruces Sun-News. Doña Ana County Sheriff’s deputies responded to the call around 11:52 p.m. on April 1ston the 4800 block of South Main Street. When officers arrived, Matthew Maldonado was there with his crashed vehicle. He told deputies that he had crashed the car into a shed on his property and while he didn’t admit that he was intoxicated, a criminal complaint that was filed that indicated otherwise.
According to the complaint, “Maldonado applied the emergency brake to allow the vehicle to “drift.” It also said that he had a strong odor of alcohol. Deputies went ahead and had the teen submit to a breath test and the results revealed that he had an alcohol concentration of .18. New Mexico state law says that it is illegal for a driver who is 21-years of age or older to have an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher and .04 if you are under 21. Aside from being over the legal limit, Maldonado is a minor which means under no circumstance is he permitted to consume alcohol.
After the results came back from the field sobriety test, Maldonado was booked into the Doña Ana County Detention Center and was released the same day on his own recognizance. The 19-year-old was charged with aggravated DWI, reckless driving, and minor in possession of alcohol. He has pleaded not guilty to the charges and a pretrial has been scheduled for May 31st. If Maldonado has not yet hired a Las Cruces drunk driving accident attorney to represent him in the case, it would be in his best interest to do so as he could face the maximum penalty in the event the courts determine he is guilty and convicts him of the crime.
What penalties might a minor face when charged with causing a drunk driving accident?
When a minor is arrested on charges of DWI in Las Cruces, they are going to be faced with the penalties for committing this crime. For starters, if you are a minor and your breath or blood test is above the legal limit, you will likely lose your driving privileges for a year. A first-time offender is also subject to receive the following penalties:
- Up to 90 days in jail.
- $500 fine
- Mandatory DWI school and alcohol evaluation.
- Have an ignition interlock installed for one year.
- Complete 24 hours of community service.
[Source: New Mexico Department of Transportation].
Now, because Maldonado’s breath test results came back with his level being .18, he could wind up having to spend two additional days in jail. He may even find that additional charges are added to his case seeing that he caused an accident. And for each criminal charge that is added to a case involving DWI comes the penalties that charge carries.
Whenever a minor is charged with DWI and causes an accident, it is vital they speak with an accident lawyer who specializes in DWI as they can work to get these charges reduced or dropped. USAttorneys.com works with some of the best accident lawyers in the city of Las Cruces, NM and would be happy to help you locate one today.