Accident report

Accident report


Kenosha, WI- If you or a loved one has a suffered a major injury in a Wisconsin car accident, you are probably considering a personal injury suit. But if you plan on filing an accident claim in the state there are few things you need to know about personal injury laws in the state in order to ensure your claim is successful and you obtain the amount of compensation you deserve.
One important thing to note if you plan on filing a claim is that Wisconsin, like all states, requires you to file your claim within a specified time period called the statute of limitations. In Wisconsin the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is three years from the date the injury occurred. Any claim not filed within that time period is likely to be dismissed.
Secondly, Wisconsin is among the many states that place caps or limits on the monetary damages awarded in personal injury suits. These caps apply to different classes of personal injury suits. Non-economic damages for medical malpractice claims are capped at $75,000. Non-economic damages are damages awarded for emotional damages and loss of enjoyment of life.
In all injury cases, whether from a car accident, truck accident or medical malpractice, punitive damages are capped at $200,000 or two times the amount of compensatory damages awarded. Punitive damages are damages that aim to punish the at-fault party for their actions if they are seen as grossly negligent or intentional.
Lastly, you need to know how state laws impact accident claims if both parties share fault for an accident. Even if you may have been partially at fault for an accident or your negligence contributed to the seriousness of your injuries you are still eligible for compensation from the other party. Say for instance, you were hit by a driver who was speeding but you weren’t wearing seat belt. Because you weren’t wearing your seat belt, the injuries you suffered were more severe. The insurer representing the party you are suing could make the argument that your negligence—failing to buckle up—contributed to the seriousness of your injuries therefore your final settlement should be reduced.
If you do share fault for an accident, the settlement amount you receive will be reduced by your percentage of negligence which is generally determined by the courts. For example, using the example above, the court decides you are 10 percent liable for your injuries, then your final settlement will be 90 percent of the damages you are awarded to for your accident.
If you are filing a personal injury claim because of a car accident, truck accident or medical malpractice, USAttorneys recommends you retain an attorney to assist you with all aspects of your claim. We can connect you with an accident lawyer in Kenosha, Wisconsin to represent you and help you recover the settlement you need.
Call one of our Wisconsin accident lawyers today and set up a consultation before you agree to any settlements or do anything else to jeopardize your claim.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.