Bodywork damageSt. Louis, MO- Whether you have been injured in a car accident, a truck accident or were injured on the job, you may be eligible to recover the costs you incurred. But in order to recover that much-deserved compensation, you need to know the basics of Missouri’s personal injury laws. USAttorneys and their team of accident lawyers in Missouri will cover some of the basics here so you know what steps you need to take have a successful injury or wrongful death claim.
All states have a statute of limitations for personal injury and wrongful death claims. Such statutes limit the amount of time an accident victim has to file their claim. In Missouri, the statutes of limitations for claims arising out of a traffic accident is five years from the date the injury or death occurred. Missing that filing deadline will result in a denial of your claim.
Accident victims in the Missouri can seek damages for their medical expenses, compensation for temporary or permanent disability, loss of wages, costs of property repair or replacement and damages for your emotional distress. If an accident is fatal, surviving family members are eligible for funeral and burial expenses. While some states have caps on the amount of certain damages that can be awarded in personal injury cases, Missouri does not. A victim is not limited in the amount or type of damages they can ask for in their claim.
Missouri’s personal injury laws will allow you to recover compensation for injuries even if you were partly to blame for your accident– that’s something you need to tell your attorney. The state uses a comparative fault standard which means the settlement you are awarded will be reduced your percentage of liability. Say for instance, you were deemed 20 percent liable for an accident. That means the other liable party will only be required to pay 80 percent of the final settlement amount. The comparative fault rule allows you to pursue the other party regardless of your percentage of liability. Even if you are 85 percent liable for a collision you can still file an accident claim.
These are just a few of the basic things accident victims need to know about filing an accident claim in Missouri. If you have been injured in an car accident or a truck accident, we urge you to contact an accident lawyer in Missouri to get their advice. Presenting a successful injury claim requires a comprehensive investigation, an clear evaluation of the evidence and the skills of  negotiation. Our team of accident lawyers will work on your case with the dedication and tenacity it deserves.
When a traffic accident is major, the victims struggle physically and emotionally; they shouldn’t have to add financial woes to their list of worries. The goal USAttorneys’ team of accident lawyers is to ensure their clients aren’t left drowning in debt because of their accident and strive to obtain the full amount of compensation an accident victim deserves. If you live in St. Louis, we recommend you speak with an accident lawyer near you. They will help you navigate negotiations with an insurance company and are willing to take your case further if that’s what it takes to get you the settlement you need.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.