If you are injured in a New London auto collision, you have two years to file your claim.

If you are injured in a New London auto collision, you have two years to file your claim.


New London, CT- According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 248 traffic fatalities in Connecticut in 2014. Luckily, not all road accidents are fatal, but they can lead to severe and costly injuries. When a traffic accident is not your fault, you rightfully want to recover compensation, so USAttorneys would like to discuss some of the basics of recovering compensation for an auto accident.
If you are the unfortunate victim of a truck accident, we urge you to speak with an accident lawyer in New London, Connecticut before you make any decisions about your case. One of our outstanding lawyers will explain the basics of recovering compensation so that you can make an informed decision about your case.
An important thing to note about filing a personal injury claim in Connecticut is the statute of limitations. If you wish to seek compensation for a personal injury or wrongful death, you must file your civil case within two years of the date of your accident, according to Justia. If you don’t file your claim within that period, your case will be dismissed, and you won’t be able to recover any compensation.
As a car accident victim, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills and other accident-related costs.

As a car accident victim, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills and other accident-related costs.


As an accident victim you may be entitled to compensation for your all of your medical bills, cost or rehabilitation if needed, property repair or replacement, pay lost for recovery, disability, and damages for their emotional distress. Surviving family members may be entitled to funeral and burial expenses as well as compensation for their mental anguish. Depending on the cause of an accident and the actions of the at-fault driver, you may also be entitled to punitive damages.
Sometimes both drivers play a role in a crash or do something that makes their injuries worse such as neglecting to wear a seat belt. In such cases, a driver who takes some responsibility for a crash can still seek compensation for their car accident under Connecticut’s modified comparative fault standard.
Under the modified comparative fault rule, each motorist is assigned a percentage of the liability for a collision depending on their actions at the time of the crash. That percentage of liability is then deducted from the final settlement amount you are ultimately awarded. For instance, a motorist runs a red light and T-bones your car causing you to suffer a significant neck injury, but you weren’t wearing a seatbelt at the time of the crash. Most liability for the accident is on the shoulders of the driver who ran a red light, so they are assigned 80 percent of the responsibility for your crash. But you are assigned 20 percent of the liability because you failed to buckle up which the other side can argue contributed to the seriousness of your injuries.
Crash victims should speak to an accident lawyer in New London to learn what options they have to recover compensation for their injuries. USAttorneys can help you get in touch with a local attorney who will help you recover compensation from a negligent party or parties. Call and set up a consultation today, so you don’t do anything to jeopardize your claim.
Call and set up a consultation with a lawyer who understands Connecticut’s personal injury claim.

Call and set up a consultation with a lawyer who understands Connecticut’s personal injury claim.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.