Laws and roadway rules that apply to teen drivers in Hesperia, CA
If your teen is approaching the age where they will be permitted to operate a vehicle or have already begun driving, we want you to be aware of some of the laws and roadway rules that apply to them. Why should you be aware of this? Well, teens drivers are among the highest age group at risk of engaging in an auto accident. Being aware and prepared of what laws apply to a teen driver can help them from engaging in a crash as they are followed and implemented.
However, if you or your teen was recently involved in an accident that occurred in the city of Hesperia, CA, and you are looking for help to assist with your accident claim, our reliable and helpful accident lawyers in Hesperia are available to provide you with their legal expertise.
Now, in terms of rules, there are certain restrictions that apply to teen drivers, aside from the rules that apply to all drivers. Because teens are new to driving and are still inexperienced, the current statewide laws as well as the restrictions apply to them.

Restrictions for a driver who carries a Hesperia California Learner’s Permit


  1. The driver must be 15 and a half years of age, but under 18.
  2. The driver must be accompanied by a person who is at least 25 years of age who also has an unexpired and active Hesperia California driver’s license.
  3. They cannot drive with passengers who are under 21 unless they are siblings. It is important that teens don’t begin their endeavors with driving with others in the vehicle other than those who are permitted. Having friends in the vehicle can lead to distractions and distractions lead to car accidents.


Restrictions that apply to those with a Hesperia California Teen Driver’s License


  1. The driver must be 18 or have had a learner’s permit for at least 6 months.
  2. Late night driving is restricted. If you are under the age of 18, you cannot drive a vehicle between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. for the first 12 months unless you have a parent or legal guardian with you.
  3. The teen driver must pass the road test before they can receive their license.
  4. They cannot transfer passengers under the age of 21 until a one-year probationary period has passed.

[Source: State of CA Department of Motor Vehicles].

Teen drivers must also meet California’s insurance requirements

Teen drivers must also be protected by an active insurance policy for when the unexpected accident arises. Currently, the state of California requires drivers in Hesperia and all other cities in the state to carry the following liability coverage:

  • $15,000 per personal injury and $30,000 for two or more persons.
  • $5,000 for property damage

Any teen pulled over without this mandatory liability insurance could face a $500.00 fine, court costs, and could lose out on their privilege to drive.
When teens abide by the laws and continue to absorb all the advice their parents offer, they reduce their chance of engaging in a collision. But, some accidents are inevitable and you also need to know what to do following an accident. Therefore, if your teen was either involved in a collision or caused an accident, contact to get connected with a reputable accident lawyer in Hesperia, CA. They can discuss with you what to expect and even help your teen collect compensation for their injuries if they sustained any.