If you are involved in an accident in Modesto, California and aren’t carrying auto insurance, you are looking at facing fines, fees, and even civil penalties for doing so. As expensive as an insurance policy is, it is crucial that every driver who owns a vehicle and drives it is at least carrying the minimum requirements set by the state of California.
What are those requirements you might be wondering? Well, according to Geico, every driver must have the following minimum coverage under their auto insurance policy:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $3,500 minimum
What penalties might I face for not carrying insurance?
The penalties are going to vary based on whether you were simply caught driving without insurance and if you actually were involved in an accident. If you are caught without insurance or a self-insurance certificate in Modesto, you might incur anywhere from $100-$200 the first time you are caught. The fine increase the second time and could cost you between $200-$500. And the fines don’t stop there. You also run the risk of having your vehicle impounded which means you are going to have to pay the costs associated with the towing and storage of your vehicle. Additionally, you are also going to have to purchase the insurance you were originally required to carry from the get go.
What will happen if I get into an accident and I don’t have insurance?
As you know, one of the first things you have to do after an auto accident is call 911 or report your accident to the California Highway Patrol (CHP). It is also advisable to call USAttorneys.com so we can help you find a local Modesto accident lawyer as you are going to want to have a legal professional working on your side.
Once police arrive on scene, they are going to ask for proof of insurance and that’s where the real issue begins. Not only will you likely lose your privilege to drive, but your license might be suspended for up to four years. This is only one of the penalties you will face regardless of whether you are at fault for causing the accident. Your vehicle may also be impounded and again, you will have to pay the fines and fees associated with the towing and storage of your vehicle.
Are there any civil costs I am at risk of being charged with?
The answer is yes, and this is why we urge you to hire one of our top of the line accident lawyers located in Modesto, CA. Not carrying insurance is a big deal in any city in the U.S but getting into a car accident and not having coverage is going to cause a whole lot of havoc for you.
Without insurance, you are now liable for all charges associated with the medical treatment that you and the other party might need as well as the cost to have your vehicle and that of the other party repaired. While insurance companies don’t always make our lives easier, they do help out with the expenses that are associated with an accident.
If you live in the city of Modesto or were involved in an accident here, you will likely need advice and guidance from someone who is well informed on the law and will have your back. Accidents bring upon stress and uneasiness and it is essential you have all the support you can get right now.
We can help you find an accident attorney in Modesto now who can answer all your questions and address any uncertainties you might have. Give us call now as our agents are ready to speak with you.