Are you a trucker who engaged in an accident in the city of Salinas, California? Are you looking to collect workers’ compensation benefits but may have violated the hours-of-service regulations? While most employees working in the state of California are covered under their employer’s workers’ comp insurance, sometimes certain circumstances may prohibit you from doing so.
Speaking with an accident attorney in Salinas, California regarding an accident that occurred while on the job will help you to gain more insight as to what your rights are, especially if you caused the accident.
What are the hours-of-service rules for truckers?
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is the lead government agency that is responsible for regulating and providing safety oversight for commercial motor vehicles. The laws and regulations they stipulate must be followed in order to be in compliant with the state and federal laws. When a trucker driver fails to do so or their employer places them in a situation that causes them to violate one or more of these laws and/or regulations, consequences are expected to be served.
Sometimes these violations are the main cause of an accident occurring and that can tremendously impact whether the injured driver files suit against you (the trucker) or your employer. So, if you think that you have violated a law and that violation has contributed to you causing an accident, we have accident lawyers in Salinas, CA ready to represent you.
Although there are several different laws that apply to truckers, one in particular that might contribute to causing your accident that you may have violated are the hours-of-service rules. Truckers spend a great deal of time of the roadway which means they need time off to recoup, relax, and regenerate. Therefore, below are the regulations set forth by the FMCSA that need to be abided by.
When a trucker is carrying property, they must follow the following rules:
- When a trucker is on an 11-hour driving limit, they can only drive for the 11 hours and then must have 10 consecutive hours off duty.
- If a trucker is on a 14-hour limit, they cannot drive beyond the 14th hour and must have 10 consecutive hours off duty.
- A trucker must take a 30-minute rest break after driving eight hours.
When a trucker is carrying passengers:
- If they are driving for a 10-hour limit, they must take eight consecutive hours off.
- If they are driving on a 15-hour time limit, they must also have eight hours off duty. If a driver is going to be on the road for 15 hours, they must have had eights hour off-duty before they can start their shift.
- A truck driver cannot drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days.
Now, if you believe you violated this law and were involved in an accident, contact us here at USAttorneys.com now to further discuss your matter. You are going to want experienced and reliable legal aid and we can provide that to you. All of the Salinas, CA truck accident lawyers featured on our site have years’ worth of experience and can help you in the event the other party is looking to sue or if you are having trouble collecting insurance benefits for the injuries you have sustained.