What restrictions are placed on teen drivers who carry a provisional license?
There is a reason teen drivers are given a minor’s permit and a provisional license, and the main purpose of it is to help them gain experience and reduce the chance of them engaging in an auto accident. Did you know that the fatal crash rate per mile driven for 16-19-year-olds is nearly 3 times the rate for drivers ages 20 and over” [Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety]? This one statistic highlights just how often these accidents occur and why it is vital that teen drivers comply with all the laws set forth when they are provided with either a permit or a provisional license.
A provisional license differs from a permit in that the driver is able to operate the vehicle on their own. However, there are some stipulations your teen needs to be aware of when they receive their provisional license. For instance:
- During the first 12 month’s you are permitted to drive with your provisional license, you must not operate your vehicle between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- You are not allowed to transport any passengers under the age of 20 unless a California licensed parent or guardian, a California licensed driver 25 years old or older, or a licensed or certified driving instructor accompanies you according to California Department of Motor Vehicles.
It is extremely important that teen drivers remain off the road until they have had adequate time to practice as there are many inattentive and reckless drivers already present on the roadways. With a teen’s inexperience and inconsiderate drivers, the roadway becomes far too hazardous for them to be on. Our accident attorneys in San Mateo, California have had to represent family members of deceased teens who lost their life in a traffic accident and you don’t want to have to deal with the same circumstances.
It is vital that all teens remain aware, cautious, and cognizant while operating their vehicles, even after they move past their provisional license period.
What do I do if my teen was involved in an auto accident?
While teens go through an extended period of time where they are learning how to drive and become familiar with the rules of the roadway, some accidents are harder to prevent than others. Therefore, if your teen was involved in an auto accident in the city of San Mateo, CA, the first thing you want to do is seek medical attention to have their injuries assessed and tended to. Once that is taken care of, you might want to consider speaking with one of our reliable accident lawyers in San Mateo to become more informed on what damages you and your teen may be entitled to collect.
Can my teen lose their privilege to drive if they caused an accident?
It depends on a few different things. If they broke a law or failed to comply with the stipulations stated under the agreement for them to drive with a permit or provisional license, your teen could have their license suspended and prolong their chance to receive their actual license.
It is important that teens are aware of the fact that driving is a privilege and that privilege can either be taken away by the law or their parents. Although teenagers spend less time on the roadway, “their numbers of crashes and crash deaths are disproportionately high” says the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
Therefore, to avoid having your teen engage in an auto accident or have them lose out on their privilege to drive, be sure they follow all the state laws and the roadway rules. If an accident has already transpired and you would like to speak with a well-versed accident attorney in San Mateo, we can get you connected with one now.