Teen drivers in Danbury, CT have specific rules as well as state laws that they are required to abide by. Their age and license status are used to determine what these rules are. The fact is, teen drivers are inexperienced and are still learning how to navigate the roadways. These laws are expected to help prevent them from causing an accident or contributing to one occurring. What are some of the laws that currently apply to teen drives in the state of Danbury, CT? Below we provide you with a list of some of the relevant driving rules that apply to those who hold a Learner’s Permit and 16-and-17-year-old licensed drivers:
- Teens are not permitted to transport more passengers than the number of seatbelts in the vehicle.
- Teens cannot operate any vehicle that requires a public passenger transportation permit or a vanpool vehicle. Therefore, if a teen wanted to try and make a little extra money and work for a ridesharing company, they aren’t permitted to do so.
- They cannot use their cellphone, even if it is hands-free when they are operating a vehicle.
- They cannot transport any passenger on a motorcycle for six months after the issuance of a motorcycle endorsement.
Teen drivers are restricted during the initial stages of them learning how to drive because of how dangerous the roads are. According to the State of Connecticut, motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death for those who are between the ages of 15-19 years old.
If your teen was recently involved in an auto accident and you live in the city of Danbury, Connecticut, our Danbury, CT accident lawyers are available to help you and your teen get through this unfortunate circumstance. Regardless of whether they were at-fault for causing the accident or not, you are going to want to have a legal representative supporting you through the claims process and even the court process in the event a claim is brought against your teen.
What if your teen is caught driving and exhibiting negligent behavior?
When a teen commits an act that goes against state law, they risk being charged with the crime as an adult depending on the circumstance. For example, someone who is under the age of 18 who commits any of the following acts would not be considered a youthful offender:
- They commit negligent homicide with a motor vehicle.
- They have evaded responsibility after an accident occurred that resulted in serious injury or death.
- They were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If a teen was caught driving carelessly, they would be recognized as a youthful offender if:
- They were driving recklessly
- Operating their vehicle while under suspension.
- Evading responsibility after an accident occurred that resulted in physical injury or property damage.
- They were street racing.
- They disregarded a police officer’s signal to stop.
Teens are held to a different standard when they are involved in an accident and our accident attorneys in Danbury not only want you to be aware of what these standards are but also what rights they have as a driver in the state of Connecticut. If your teen was accused of causing a serious or even fatal accident, you definitely need to be represented by one of the best accident attorneys in the city of Danbury. USAttorneys.com can get you connected with a professional today in the event you are seeking legal aid.