If you get into a significant car accident in Florida, and you fail to remain at the scene of the accident, then you could be charged with a hit and run offense. The severity of the penalty will vary based on how serious the accident was.
According to Florida law, any accident that causes injuries, death, or damage worth $500 or more must be reported. You are required to exchange contact information with the other drivers who were involved as well. It is a smart idea to take photos of the accident as soon as possible and to request the contact information of any witnesses that saw the collision occur.
It can be easy to forget the sequence of events after something as traumatic as a car accident and that is why you should write down everything that happened as soon as possible, and make sure to note down the weather conditions and road conditions at the time of the collision. You should also call an accident lawyer before seeking compensation from the other party or the relevant insurance company so that your chances of getting a proper settlement are significantly increased.
Following the statute of limitations
In Florida, if you get injured in a car accident, you have up to two years after facing the injuries to file an accident claim. However, the case is different if you want to file the claim against a public entity such as a city bus driver. In such cases, you have 90 days after facing the injuries to make a claim. You should also keep in mind that claims with your insurance company must be made as soon as possible and do not follow the statute of limitations.
Insurance requirements in Fort Lauderdale, Florida
In Florida, every driver is required to purchase car insurance and have proof of insurance for their vehicle. The minimum insurance is $10,000 for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 for Property Damage Liability (PDL).
When making an insurance claim after the accident in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, you should make sure you do not hastily agree to the first offer the insurer gives you. The insured will probably be giving a lower amount then what you deserve, and they may also be requesting you not to pursue any further claims once the first offer is accepted. You should always have an accident attorney read all the correspondence given to you by our insurer so they can respond appropriately and negotiate until you are offered a fair amount.
Get in touch with an accident lawyer at Tucker Law today to discuss your accident claim.
Reach us at:
200 SE 6th Street, Suite 405
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301