Broward County, FL- There are many wonderful reasons to live in or visit Florida. The sunshine, year-round warmth and beaches are a big draw for many, and the millions flock to the state every year to bask in the sun and take in the sights. It’s also a popular retirement spot. But, between the permanent residents and visitors, traffic accidents throughout the state are fairly common and the victims soon learn why Florida is a horrible place to be in a traffic accident. Here we’ll talk about the three main reasons you don’t want to be in an accident in Broward County of anywhere else in the state.
Uninsured motorists
A survey of insurance laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, conducted by finance website WalletHub, found that Florida has a large number of uninsured motorists. According to WalletHub data, 23.8 percent of the motorists in the Sunshine State don’t have auto insurance. That means if an accident is seriously injured, they have to make a claim against their insurance policy and risk having to pay some of their medical expenses out of their own pocket.   
If you were struck by an uninsured motorist and suffered a major injury, USAttorneys urges you to contact an accident attorney in Broward County, Florida to help you recover a fair settlement for your pain and distress.
Lowest minimum insurance requirements
In that same survey, WalletHub also found that Florida has very lenient car insurance requirements. All motorists in the state are required to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection. That’s all. Considering the high cost of medical care in the U.S. a simple broken bone can easily add up to and exceed the Florida’s $10,000 minimum. That also means an accident victim may have to cover some of their accident-related costs even though they weren’t actually at fault.
No-fault insurance rules
Florida’s no-fault insurance rules require all accident victims to file their personal injury and property repair claims with their insurer. A traffic accident victim must be able to show their injuries meets the state’s serious injury threshold in order to pursue the at-fault driver of their insurance company for compensation. Accident victims must show they suffered a permanent injury, were disfigured, or were temporarily or permanently scarred before they are allowed to file a claim against the at-fault driver and their insurer.
Those standards are a bit vague which is why you should get the advice of an accident lawyer before accepting any settlement. They will be able to determine if you meet the serious injury threshold and decide what the value of your claim is.
These three facts about traffic accidents make Florida one of the last places you want to get into accident. It’s not a victim-friendly state. Victims face challenges recovering the right amount of compensation the need and deserve for their injuries. Our team of accident lawyers in Broward County, Florida will benefit your case and ensure you recover all the damages you are entitled to for your injuries. Accident victims shouldn’t have to dig into their own pockets if their injuries were caused by a callous and careless driver, and our team of attorneys will work hard to see that the victims they represent have a successful injury claim.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.