Fort Lauderdale, FL- No one wants to get into an accident, but when your number comes up just cross your fingers and pray your accident doesn’t happen in Florida. It may be the state from fun and sun, but it certainly isn’t friendly to accident victims according to a new study.
The study, conducted by WalletHub, looked at all fifty states and the minimum amount of insurance each driver is required to carry. They looked at a number of factors including how much personal injury protection and liability cover a driver is supposed to carry and the proportion of drivers in the state who don’t have insurance.
Turns out, Florida has the lowest minimum insurance coverage requirements of an state and high number of uninsured motorists, which means that if you get in an accident in the Sunshine State, you are probably going to cover some of those cost out of your own pocket. A Florida accident attorney is capable of getting an accident victim a larger settlement, but it won’t be an easy endeavor.
Florida is a no-fault state which means that an accident victim’s medical care is covered by their car insurance company up to their policy’s limit. At minimum, each driver is required carry $10,000 in liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP).
Maine is on the opposite end of the spectrum, requiring motorists carry higher amounts of liability and personal injury coverage, making it a victim-friendly state. Florida drivers can choose insurance with better coverage, but most don’t because they don’t want to pay the premium.
In fact, many drivers in Florida just choose not to have insurance at all. According to WalletHub, 23.8 percent of Florida motorists carry no insurance at all! Not one bit and even worse the state is plagued by staged accidents. Only one state has a worse uninsured motorist rate and that is Oklahoma with a 25.9 percent uninsured motorist rate.
As you may or may not know, the medical costs associated with a traffic accident can easily climb into the tens of thousands and extremely bad cases, climb into the hundreds of thousands. So, the $10,000 minimum requirement in Florida will only cover a really minor injury.
There have been efforts by lawmakers to change the state’s no-fault law, but those efforts have failed. So next time you are in Florida, just stay on your toes. Put those defensive driving skills to good use and whatever you do try not to get into an accident.
We don’t think about insurance coverage that much until they have the misfortune of being in an accident. But insurance coverage is crucial and many times victims find that drivers don’t have enough insurance to completely cover their medical costs. Or, cover their future expenses if they suffered a serious or permanently disabling injury. For that reason, a victim should retain an accident attorney to get them the settlement they need, not the bare minimum. Accident victims don’t have to dig into their own pockets to pay for the accident expenses they accumulate because of a callous and careless driver.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.