Penalties for Causing a Drunk Driving Accident in Sunrise, Florida
A drunk driving accident generally results in several different penalties each ranging in severity. Drunk driving accident penalties are going to depend on a few different things including:
- Where and when the accident occurred.
- How many individuals were involved?
- If anyone suffered from an injury or died as a result of the accident.
- If any traffic laws were broken aside from driving while under the influence. For example, if the driver was speeding and driving while intoxicated, that is likely going to increase their penalties.
- The driver’s blood-alcohol content (BAC) level.
- How much damage was caused as a result of the incident?
Some of the penalties are explained below to help you become more informed on how the State of Florida penalizes drivers who are the cause of a drunk driving accident transpiring.
- According to Florida’s state law §316.193(3), F.S., any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving drunk is guilty of a First-Degree Misdemeanor. That means you will incur a fine amounting to $1,000 or less or one year in prison.
- Now, if you are convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI and you caused a drunk driving accident that resulted in property damage or personal injury, you will face a Third-Degree Felony charge and a fine of up to $5,000 and/or five years in prison.
- In the event the drunk driving accident you caused resulted in serious bodily injury, you are going to be found guilty of a Third-Degree Felony, charged a fine of up to $5,000, and could potentially spend five years in prison.
[Source: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles].
If you were involved in a drunk driving accident, whether you are the victim or the driver, now is the time to contact USAttorneys.com. These matters aren’t handled lightly and it is important that you have legal aid working on your side no matter what your stance may be. We can connect you with a local accident attorney in Sunrise, FL now who can begin working with you.
What if a drunk driving accident resulted in a death?
The charges that a person will face for causing a drunk driving accident that resulted in a death can be one of the following depending on your particular circumstances:
- DUI/Manslaughter, Second Degree Felony- A fine of up to $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment.
- DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who either knew or should have known that an accident occurred yet failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First-Degree Felony and will incur a fine of $10,000 or less and/or serve 30 years in prison.
- Vehicular Homicide, Second Degree Felony- A fine of up to $10,000 and/or 15 years imprisonment.
- Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who was guilty of leaving the scene of an accident is guilty of a First-Degree Felony and will be charged up to $10,000 in fines and/or face 30 years in prison.
If you are the cause of a drunk driving accident or the victim who suffered an injury, contact us today so we can place you in touch with the best accident lawyer in the city of Sunrise, Florida.