If a driver gets into a car accident in Boca Raton, they need to make sure they report the accident to the appropriate authorities. If the total expenses for the accident are above $500 then it is necessary that a person report the accident to their local police department.
Another important professional to get in touch with after a car crash is an accident attorney in Boca Raton. Most people do not realize the value of getting a legal professional on board when it comes to accidents involving vehicles on the road. Car accidents generally lead to very expensive damages and they can lead to serious injuries which result in lost wages and similar financial consequences.
A lawyer can communicate with one’s insurance company in order to get an appropriate amount of compensation to cover up the damages.
Florida is a no-fault car insurance state
It is important to note that if a person gets into a car accident in Florida, the first thing they have to do is file a claim under their own protection coverage to get compensation. Florida is a no-fault car insurance state and this means that a person needs to first make claims with their own coverage before they hold the other party responsible and before they demand compensation from them.
How is liability decided?
Florida has a pure comparative fault rule when it comes to car accidents. This means that the amount of liability will be charged after the total amount of damage is calculated alongside the percentage of liability of each driver. A person will be given a certain percentage which they have to pay depending on how much they were at fault for the accident.
If both drivers broke traffic rules then they will each be held accountable by a certain percentage. The driver who was more at fault will obviously have to pay more in damages to the other driver through their insurance company.
Who should I call in order to get properly compensated?
If a person gets into an accident then it is in their best interest to contact an accident lawyer in Boca Raton as soon as possible. The best way to ensure that a person is securing the maximum amount of monetary compensation is by getting in touch with a lawyer before even calling one’s insurance company.
However, if a person has already spoken with their insurance company and they have already gotten a quote from them they can still get the help of a lawyer to counter that claim and ask for more.
Under Florida’s statute of limitations, individuals have 4 years to file a legal claim for their car accident. It is very important that individuals make their claim within this time-frame if they want to receive compensation. If they exceed this time limitation then their case will likely be invalid and will not result in any form of monetary compensation for the driver.