Personal injury claim
Jacksonville, FL- In 2014, over 225,000 Floridians were injured in traffic accidents and 2,496 people were killed, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. That is a large number of people who have been injured or lost a loved out of no fault of their own. These victims and you, if you have the misfortune of being in accident, have the right to pursue the at-fault parties for compensation but before doing so there are things you need to know about filing an accident suit in the state of Florida.
First thing you as an accident victim need to know is that Florida is a no-fault insurance state in regards to car accident claims. That means personal injury claims arising out of traffic accidents are handled by each party’s insurance no matter who was responsible for the accident. Your medical expenses, emotional damages and property damage will be paid for by your insurer unless your injuries are severe. That is a vague standard which is why USAttorneys recommends you speak with an accident lawyer in Jacksonville, Florida before you decide how to proceed with your case. They will inform you if your injuries meet the state’s “severe” injury standard. If you don’t, you can still benefit from an attorney’s representation when negotiating with your insurance company.
You also need to know that you have a deadline you have to meet if you plan called the statute of limitations. In Florida, personal injury and wrongful death claims must be filed within four years of the date the injury or death occurred.
If your injuries are severe, but you may have played some role in your accident, you need to know that you can still pursue personal injury compensation. Florida has a comparative negligence rules which allows accident victims to recover compensation for their injuries even if they were partly to blame. For instance, say a driver ran a stop sign and T-boned your car but you were speeding when the collision occurred. Because you were breaking a traffic law by speeding, you would be partly to blame for the accident. You may be deemed 5 percent responsible for an accident, so the final settlement amount you receive would be reduced by that amount.
Another important thing to note about Florida’s personal injury laws is that there is cap on the damages that some accident victims receive. There is only one cap that applies to car accidents and that is a cap on punitive damages. These damages are limited to three times the amount of compensatory damages or $500,000 whichever is greater.
A traffic accident can have a major impact on your life, so you need someone fighting for your best interests. One of our experienced and compassionate accident lawyers in Florida will work hard to ensure you get the amount of compensation you need and deserve for your accident. Contact USAttorneys and we will refer your case to local Florida attorney to assist you with your case.
Personal injury claim