If you are injured in an auto collision in Tennessee, you have one year to file your personal injury or wrongful death claim.
Davidson County, TN- According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, over 21,000 people in the state were injured in traffic accidents. Some lucky accident victims aren’t injured, but too many suffer significant injuries that can be very costly over time, and they deserve to be compensated for their injuries. Here USAttorneys will discuss some of the basics of filing a personal injury claim in Tennessee.
If you do plan in filing an injury claim in Davidson County, we recommend you speak with an accident lawyer and set up a time for a consultation. You’ll learn the basics of filing a personal injury claim, so you have the information you need to make the best decision about resolving your case.
You may not realize it, but Tennessee limits the time you have to file a personal injury claim which is referred to as the statute of limitations. In Tennessee, the statute of limitations for personal injury or wrongful death claims is one year from the date your accident or injury occurred. If you fail to file your claim within the statute of limitations, the court can deny it, and you’ll get nothing.
Accident victims can choose to settle with an insurer or take their injury claim to civil court.
If you are a victim or a traffic accident in Tennessee, you may be eligible for compensation for your medical expenses, damage to your auto, loss of wages and emotional distress. When a car accident is fatal, their surviving family members may be entitled to compensation for their funeral and burial expenses, loss of financial support and loss of companionship. It is important to note that even accident victims are entitled to various types of compensation, there are caps on the amount of compensation that can be awarded. Non-economic damages, which are awarded for pain and suffering, are capped at $750,000. If an accident victim suffers a catastrophic injury, such as an amputation, severe burn or is paralyzed from a spinal cord injury non-economic damages are capped at $1,000,000.
A traffic accident can be shattering physically, emotionally, and financially and it can be difficult for a victim to pull their lives together. Let USAttorneys connect you with an accident lawyer in Davidson County, Tennessee to help you with your injury claim. We have a skilled and professional team of lawyers who will strive to recover the generous settlement you deserve. Call on of our lawyers today and arrange a case consultation.
Car accident victims in Tennessee may be eligible for compensation to cover their medical bills and other accident-related costs.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.