USAttorneys has a skilled team of accident lawyers in Wayne, Michigan who will stand by you through all stages of the injury claim process.
Wayne, MI- Were you injured by a careless driver? Was your injury serious? Were you hospitalized for a day or more? With medical costs at all-time high, it’s likely to that you are flooded with medical bills and other expenses resulting from your injuries. You can recover compensation for your pain and suffering, but there are some basics of Michigan’s personal injury laws you need to know, so you recover the amount of compensation you truly deserve.
It’s always wise to consult with an accident attorney in Wayne, Michigan if you were injured and would like to recover compensation. USAttorneys can connect you with a local lawyer who can advise you on the best way to resolve your claim.
Michigan has a no-fault insurance rule that will affect who must pay your compensation. That rule requires you to file your accident claim with your auto insurance company, regardless of who is at fault, must pay your accident-related costs. You can only pursue a civil suit from the negligent driver if you are “seriously” injured which means you are disfigured or suffer severe bodily damage.
You need to know Michigan’s statute of limitations, so you don’t miss the opportunity to recover compensation for your
All states have a statute of limitations which dictates how much time you have to file a personal injury or wrongful death claims. In Michigan, the statute of limitations for these claims is three years from the date the injury or death. If you don’t discover the injury until later, which is not that uncommon, you have three years from the date you discovered your injury.
If you were hurt, you are entitled to compensation for your medical expenses, costs of rehabilitation, property damage, lost wages because of temporary or permanent disability and other financial losses. Depending on the driver’s carelessness and the extent of your injuries, you may be entitled to punitive damages and mental anguish.
Accident victims whose loved ones are killed may be entitled to compensation for funeral and burial expenses, loss of companionship, and loss of financial support if the deceased is a breadwinner.
You must meet the serious injury threshold before you can file a civil claim.
Even if you were partly to blame, you could still recover compensation under Michigan’s modified comparative negligence rule. You will be assigned a percentage of liability, 10 percent for instance, and that amount will be deducted from the final award amount. If you were more than 50 percent liable for an accident, you would not be able to pursue another motorist for compensation.
If you are injured in a traffic accident in Wayne, Michigan, USAttorneys can help you find a local accident lawyer to work on your claim. An accident lawyer will defend your rights and help you recover the settlement amount you deserve.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.