You will have a better chance of recovering a fair settlement if you understand Oklahoma’s personal injury laws.

You will have a better chance of recovering a fair settlement if you understand Oklahoma’s personal injury laws.


Canadian, OK- Did you get hit by a negligent driver? Did you suffer an injury? Were your injuries serious? Were you hospitalized? Are you getting flooded with medical bills and auto repair bills? If you were in a car accident and suffered an injury, you might be considering an injury claim. That is why USAttorneys wanted to explain some of the basics of filing an injury claim in Sooner State.
If you plan on filing a personal injury claim in Canadian, Oklahoma, you need to file your claim within the statute of limitations. For personal injury and wrongful death claims the statute of limitations is two years from the date the injury occurred. If your civil suit is not filed before the statute of limitations expires, your claim will be denied and you won’t be able to recover any compensation.
As an accident victim, you may be entitled to compensation for your present and future medical expenses, recovery, doctor’s visits, and emotional distress. In some cases, depending on the actions of the at-fault driver, you may be eligible for punitive damages. There are no caps on the dollar amount of financial damages which include medical bills and property repair you can ask for, but Oklahoma law limits the amount of non-economic damages, or “pain and suffering” compensation, to $350,000.
USAttorneys has an expert legal team in Canadian, Oklahoma, who can assist you with your injury claim.

USAttorneys has an expert legal team in Canadian, Oklahoma, who can assist you with your injury claim.


If you are planning on pursuing an injury claim, we recommend you speak with an accident lawyer who is well-versed in Oklahoma’s personal injury statutes.  Our legal team in Canadian team is dedicated to each client they represent and strive to get them the compensation amount they deserve.
Even if you were partly at fault for an accident, you might be able to recover compensation if the other party was more negligent and you suffered a significant injury. Oklahoma has “modified comparative fault” rule which allows you to recover compensation as long as you were not 50 percent liable for a crash. If you are less than 50 percent liable, which is determined in the early stages of your claim, that amount will be deducted from your final settlement amount. So, if you are assigned 25 percent of the blame, that amount will be deducted from the final settlement amount you receive.
We discussed just a few of the basics of filing an accident claim in Oklahoma.  We recommend you speak with an accident lawyer in Canadian to set up a case evaluation. Our honest and dedicated team of attorneys will act in your best interest and do what they can to ensure you get all of the compensation you are entitled to for your injuries. Your case will get the attention it deserves in the capable hands of one of our local legal teams.
Oklahoma has a two-year statute of limitations for auto accident claims.

Oklahoma has a two-year statute of limitations for auto accident claims.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.