Oklahoma City, OK- Data from the Oklahoma Department of Transportation shows that in 2014 there were 68,327 traffic accidents in the state. Many of those accidents were relatively minor, resulting in only property damage or minor injuries, but many traffic accidents have devastating outcomes for the victims involved. Those accident victims will rightfully want to seek compensation for their injuries, medical costs and suffering, but in order for them have a successful injury claim that results in a fair settlement, there are some facts about Oklahoma’s personal injury laws accident victims need to know.
Firstly, if you have suffered a major injury, you need to speak with an accident lawyer near your location immediately. You could use the guidance of a lawyer to keep you from making statements or taking actions that can jeopardize the success of your claim. Your legal counsel can also keep you on track to meet crucial deadlines.
One of those deadlines you must meet is the statute of limitations which puts a limit on the amount of time you have to file a personal injury or wrongful death claim. In Oklahoma, the statute of limitations for car and truck accident claims is two years.
Oklahoma accident victims are generally eligible for compensation for their economic losses which include a victim’s medical costs, property damage and loss of income. Some accident victims are also eligible for non-economic damages which include punitive damages or compensation for a victim’s emotional distress. Oklahoma law doesn’t not put a cap on economic damages but non-economic damages for personal injury cases are capped at $350,000.
In some cases, an accident victim is partly to blame or somehow contributed to their accident. These victims often mistakenly think they aren’t eligible for compensation if they played any role in an accident but that it is not the case. While it will be an issue throughout the negotiation process, being partly at fault for a traffic collision won’t necessarily be a barrier to a fair settlement.
Oklahoma uses a shared fault standard for traffic accidents where more than one party played a role. Each party is assigned a level of responsibility for an accident depending on their role. Say for instance, a victim is rear-ended by a motorist who was sending a text message and suffered an injury that was made worse because the victim wasn’t wearing a seat belt. The motorist who rear-ended the vehicle is mostly at fault and is assigned 85 percent of the responsibility for the accident, and the victim is assigned 15 percent responsibility. That means that any financial award the victim receives will be reduced by 15 percent, the amount of liability they have been assigned.
These are just a few of the main points you need to know about Oklahoma’s personal injury laws if you have been in a traffic accident or a workplace accident. If you plan on filing a claim, USAttorneys urges you to contact an accident lawyer in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to discuss your case and how to effectively pursue your claim. Let us connect you with a lawyer today who will do everything in their power to secure a generous settlement on your behalf.
 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.