AccidentPortland, OR- Car accidents, pedestrian accidents and bicycle accidents leave thousands of people injured in Oregon every year. Many of these accident victims suffer devastating injuries that can leave them drowning in medical debt and out of work. There are laws however that allow car accident or truck accident victims to recoup the costs associated with their accident, but there are a few things about Oregon’s personal injury laws that victims need to know.
First you need to know that like all states, Oregon has a statute of limitations which dictates you must file your personal injury claim within two years of your injury. If you fail to file your personal injury or wrongful death claim before the statute of limitations runs out, your claim is most likely going to be denied.
Secondly, Oregon has a fault insurance system, which allows accident victims to file a civil suit without having to make a claim with their insurer first. Accident victims can file a claim with their insurer if they choose to but it’s not a requirement. Being the victim of a hit-and-run accident is a good reason why you might file a claim with your own insurer. If the at-fault party or parties can be identified, you can file your claim with their insurer.
If you were partly responsible, you can still recover compensation under Oregon’s personal injury laws which follow comparative negligence rule with a slight modification. Under the comparative negligence rule, the amount of compensation you are entitled to for your accident is reduced by you percentage of fault. That means if you are 20 percent responsible for an accident, your settlement will be reduced by that amount. But if you must assume 50 percent or more of the blame you are not entitled to any compensation from the other party.
As an accident victim, you may be eligible for compensation for your medical expenses, loss of wages and damages for your mental anguish. If the at-fault driver was grossly negligent or their actions were intentional, you may also be entitled to punitive damages on top of your compensatory damages. An accident attorney understands the true value of your injuries and will work hard to get you the amount you truly deserve.
Like other states Oregon puts a cap on damages accident victims can recover but that cap is limited to wrongful death claims. Non-economic damages which are awarded for emotional distress are capped at $500,000.
Following a major traffic accident, you can turn to the accident lawyers at USAttorneys for answers to your questions and help during this troubling time. You can count on an honest evaluation of your case and a solid plan to recover every bit of compensation you are entitled to for your pain and suffering. Our accident attorneys in Oregon are knowledgeable and compassionate and will do everything in their power to get you the settlement you deserve. You need someone on your side who understands the challenges you face.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.