Anyone who gets into a serious car accident and they do not have insurance will have to face serious penalties from the law, especially if the accident is determined to be their fault. Car accidents are far too common and that is why Iowa law states that all drivers should always have insurance. Though it may be difficult to make the monthly vehicle insurance payments, being insured greatly benefits a person if they ever do find themselves in an accident.
Drivers who make the mistake of deciding to operate their vehicle without any form of insurance backing them up, risk suspension of their driver’s license by the Department of Transportation if they are ever stuck in a collision. If an uninsured driver gets into an accident and anyone is afflicted by bodily injury, death, or damage of over $1500 because of the collision they will have their license and vehicle registration suspended without further notice.
Driving uninsured is such a serious offense that all the registrations of the owner of the vehicle are suspended whether or not the owner was the one who was driving when the collision occurred.
Is there any way I can avoid getting my license suspended after getting into an accident while uninsured?
As always, there are some exceptions to the rules. A vehicle owner can avoid having their license and registrations suspended if they are able to give money or some form of security that they will pay the amount requested by the DOT. Another case in which they may not have their license suspended is if the only damage faced was to the uninsured individual and no one else suffered any serious injuries. If the vehicle was stopped or parked when the accident occurred in Adel, Iowa, or if the vehicle was driven without the owner’s consent, they may also be able to avoid legal penalization.
A person may also avoid penalization by the law if they can provide evidence to the Department of Transportation proving the following:
- The other driver involved in the accident gave them a release from liability
- They have a court order that states they are not liable for the accident
- They were not at fault for the accident as the investigation, witness statements, and statement of the other driver shows they were not liable
However, if the suspension has already taken place, a person will be forced to follow the restrictions until the total amount is paid to the Department of Transportation or 12 months have passed since the accident and no lawsuits have been laid or until evidence is provided showing release from liability or showing a written agreement of payment between the two parties involved in the collision.
Any uninsured driver who gets into a collision should contact an accident attorney as soon as possible to discuss possible defenses that can reduce their penalties and get help with the legal protocol that is bound to follow the collision.