Firefighters helping an injured woman in a carMarlton, NJ- According to the New Jersey Department of Transportation, there were over 200,000 traffic crashes across the state. Of those crashes, 501 were fatal and 51,586 resulted in the injuries. Injury victims have the right to seek compensation as do surviving family members. But there are basics of filing an accident claim after an injurious or deadly crash that every accident victim in New Jersey needs to know.
New Jersey has a statute of limitations which limits the amount of time an accident victim has to file their personal injury or wrongful death claim. For claims resulting from car accidents, truck collisions, nursing home abuse or medical malpractice, victims are given two years from the date the injury occurred to file. If you don’t file your claim within the statute of limitations, you won’t be able to recover compensation.
There are special rules that apply to personal injury cases resulting from a car accident. New Jersey is considered a no-fault insurance state. That means that you must file your accident claim with your insurance company unless you are seriously injured.
If you are injured in an accident, you may be eligible for compensatory damages which include compensation for your medical expenses, rehabilitation, temporary or permanent disability, lost wages and damages for your emotional distress. If the accident was fatal, surviving loved ones are eligible for compensatory damages along with compensation for their loss companionship, loss of financial support and mental anguish. If the at-fault driver’s actions were abhorrent or grossly negligent, you may be able to seek punitive damages on top of your compensatory damages.
Even if you are partly to blame for an accident in New Jersey, you may still be eligible for compensation. In cases where fault is shared New Jersey uses a comparative negligence standard. Under that standard, any final settlement amounts awarded to an accident victim will be reduced by the level of liability they have been assigned. Say for instance, you were making a right turn and was rear-ended, but you didn’t use your turn signal. You suffered a serious injury but you were assigned 15 percent of liability for the crash. That means the compensation you receive will only be 85 percent of final settlement amount.
USAttorneys urges traffic accident victims to retain a personal injury lawyer near their location in New Jersey to assist them with all aspects of their injury claim. You can maximize your final settlement amount by enlisting an attorney to help you negotiate with insurers or build an injury claim if you plan on taking your case to court.
If you need an accident lawyer in Marlton, New Jersey we urge you to contact the Law Offices of Nugent Zborowski & Bruce and set up a time to talk about your accident and the types of compensation you may be eligible for. You can visit their website at http://www.nugentlawfirm.com/ and learn more the team of devoted and tenacious attorneys working to improve the lives of accident victims in New Jersey.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.