Sedgwick, KS- The Kansas Department of Transportation reports that in 2013—the latest year data is available—there were over 50,000 traffic accidents. The overwhelming majority of those accidents, over 45,000, only involved property damage, but there were 13,106 injuries and 327 deaths. Most of those accident victims are eligible for compensation to pay their medical expenses and other accident-related costs, so our team of accident lawyers in Kansas would like to outline the basics of filing a personal injury claim in the state.
The first thing you need to understand about Kansas accident claims is that it is a no-fault insurance state, which means accident victims must first file their claim with their insurance company if their injuries don’t meet the state’s serious injury standard. Broken bones, traumatic brain injuries, spinal injuries, permanent disfigurement or loss of body functions. USAttorneys urges you to contact a personal injury attorney to discuss whether you can file a personal injury claim.
Kansas, like all states, puts a limit on the time you have to file a personal injury claim arising out of a traffic accident or truck accident. That time limit is called the statute of limitations and in Kansas and it is two years from the date the injury or death occurred. That may seem like plenty of time to file your claim, but you and your legal counsel need enough time to build an unassailable injury claim.
Even if someone else was at fault for your accident, it is not uncommon for them to point the finger back at you. Negligent parties and the insurance companies that represent them want to reduce their liability by any means necessary and that often means putting some of the responsibility on your shoulders. If this is the case, the state uses a comparative fault standard to determine the how much compensation you are awarded.
Under Kansas’s comparative fault laws, both parties involved in an accident will be assigned a level of liability depending on their actions. For example, say you were involved in a rear-end collision just as you were making a right turn. The driver who rear-ended you was following too closely but you didn’t use your turn signal. In that scenario, the argument could be made that the driver who rear-ended you is mostly at fault, because they were following too closely, and they deserve to 85 percent of the blame. You are then assigned 15 percent of the blame because you didn’t use your turn signal. That means that the final settlement amount you receive will be reduced by 15 percent.
Accident victims in Kansas are eligible for compensation to cover their medical and rehabilitation expenses, costs associated with repair or replacement of property, loss of wages damages for their emotional distress. If a fatality occurred, the victim’s surviving family members might be eligible for compensation for the deceased’s medical, funeral and burial expenses along with financial damages for their grief and loss of financial support and companionship.
USAttorneys urges you to contact an accident lawyer in Sedgwick, Kansas if you were injured or lost a loved one in a tragic accident. They will work to obtain the best settlement possible and make certain your rights are respected.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.