Understanding Massachusetts’s Insurance Requirements
If you are a resident of Fall River, MA, it is important that you are aware of what requirements the state of Massachusetts has set in terms of auto insurance. Why? If you are involved in an auto accident and need to file a claim for compensation, you are going to want to know what your policy limits are and what you are entitled to collect. So, let’s start with some of the laws you are required to abide by as a driver.
- According to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, it is illegal for you to operate your vehicle in Fall River without at least the minimum amount of liability coverage required by law. Currently, the minimum legal insurance requirements are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: is $20,000 / $40,000
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $20,000 / $40,000
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000
- You need to have your MA proof of insurance on you at all times. In the event you are involved in an auto accident, whether you were at-fault or not, the officer called to the scene will likely ask for you to show proof of insurance. Your insurance card will suffice as proof.
- If you are new to Fall River, Massachusetts, it’s important that you update your information with your insurance company to ensure you are meeting the minimum coverage requirements and that they have your up-to-date information on file. Not having current or up to date information regarding your vehicle, address, etc. could affect whether your auto insurance covers you for an auto accident.
For instance, if you recently moved to a new area or are a new resident to the state of MA and your insurance premium is more expensive, if you didn’t update your address, your insurer could use this against you when it comes time to file a damage claim.
Another thing that will prevent any discrepancies from occurring when filing an auto accident claim should one occur is getting your vehicle registered with the Registry of Motor Vehicles. You can click here now to be taken to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles to get your registration updated.
Complying with Massachusetts’s insurance requirements is extremely important so that in the event you engage in a crash, you have the minimum limits to cover you. For example, if an uninsured driver hits your car and you can’t file a claim to collect compensation for your damages, you would be able to use the uninsured coverage you have purchased to cover this.
Did you already engage in an auto accident and aren’t sure if your claim is being handled fairly? are you unsure if fault is being placed on the right party? If you have any uncertainties or questions pertaining to your accident, don’t hesitate to contact USAttorneys.com. Our agents will help you find and locate a nearby accident lawyer in Fall River, MA who can provide you with the answers you are seeking.