Michigan law requires that all its drivers purchase no-fault insurance in order to legally be operating a vehicle on a Michigan roadway. There are three parts to this policy that you must have and those include:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Understanding each part of your insurance policy is crucial when you are looking to file a claim to get reimbursed for medical bills as well as repairs you have had to get on your vehicle. PIP insurance coverage will cover you when you become injured in an accident. This particular portion of your policy will cover your medical bills and will even pay up to 85% of the income you would have received had you been able to work. While the limits are revised on a continual basis that determine just how much you are entitled to collect, right now the maximum amount you can receive is $5,452 and of course, that depends on what your salary or hourly wage is set at. In the event the accident involved a loved one of yours and you are looking to collect benefits on their behalf, you would be entitled to the same benefits they would have received each month for three years.
PIP also provides injured claimants up to $20 a day for replacement services such as yard work or housekeeping in the event your injury has prohibited you from engaging in any sort of household services. If you would like to learn more about PIP benefits and how they apply to your particular circumstances, reach out to one of the recommended Lansing, Michigan accident lawyers found right here on our site.
- Property Protection (PPI)
Your PPI coverage will pay up to $1 million in damages you caused to someone else’s property including buildings and fences. If you caused damage to a properly parked vehicle, then your PPI coverage will pay for this damage as well.
- Residual Liability Insurance-Bodily Injury and Property Damage
According to the State of Michigan, no-fault insurance plays many different roles including protecting you from being sued. However, there may be certain times where another person or driver is legally permitted to file suit against you. These circumstances are listed below.
When can I be sued for an auto accident?
- In the event you are the cause of an accident that kills, seriously injuries, or permanently disfigure someone, you are at risk of being sued.
- If your accident involves a driver who is not a resident of the state of Michigan.
- In the event you engage in an accident in another state.
- You can be sued for up to $1,000 in the event you are 50% or more at-fault for causing an accident that resulted in damages that are not covered by insurance.
If you were recently involved in an accident in Lansing, Michigan, your insurance company is expected to cover up to your limited amounts without assessing who was at-fault. Michigan operates under the no-fault insurance law which means fault doesn’t play a role in whether your insurance carrier steps in to help. No-fault insurance will cover:
- Wage loss benefits
- Medical expenses
- Replacement services
- Damage you caused to other people’s property
To be certain that your claim is handled fairly and properly, we recommend you allow of our trusted accident and injury lawyers in Lansing, Michigan help you with your claim. And if you are being sued or at risk of being sued, we also suggest you hire one of our reputable accident lawyers immediately as you are going to want to have legal help on your side.