Did you suffer from an injury while riding your bicycle in Winston-Salem, North Carolina? Did a negligent or reckless driver fail to adhere to state laws which resulted in your accident? Did you know that you may be eligible to collect compensation from that driver’s insurance company in the event you can prove they caused the accident? If so, our accident attorneys in Winston-Salem, NC would be more than happy to help get you started with this process.
The state of North Carolina has specific laws set into place that protects those who travel by bike. Understanding what these laws are can help serve as support in the event you are looking to file a claim or even a lawsuit against the party who caused your accident. Bicycle injuries are known to be rather severe so it is highly encouraged you have a professional help you through the process to ensure you are compensated for all the pain and suffering you have had to endure.
What are some laws that protect bicyclists in Winston-Salem, North Carolina?
In the state of NC, “a bicycle has the legal status of a vehicle” according to the Division of Bicycle & Pedestrian Transportation. Because bicycle riders are viewed the same as those who operate a motor vehicle, the following laws apply to those who ride a bike:
- Bicyclists must ride on the right in the same direction as other traffic.
- They must obey all traffic signs and signals.
- Bicyclists must use hand gestures to indicate intended movements.
- Those who ride a bike must equip their bike with a front lamp that is visible from 300 feet and a rear reflector that is visible from a distance of 200 feet when riding during the nighttime hours.
Now, because bicyclists are viewed the same as those who travel in an automobile, that means motorists must respect these riders just as they would if someone was driving a car or truck. Unfortunately, there are many instances where drivers fail to abide by North Carolina’s state laws which serves as one of the reasons why so many bicyclists are injured in accidents.
What other state laws apply to bicyclists?
- Bicyclists are prohibited to ride on interstates or “fully controlled limited access highways such as beltlines unless otherwise specified by action of the Board of Transportation.” The only exception that is allowed currently is when someone rides on US 17 over the Chowman River between Chowman and Bertie Counties.
- “There is no law that requires bicyclists to ride single file” nor is there any law that gives them the right to ride in two’s.
- Bicyclists are allowed to wear headphones although it isn’t recommended.
Ready to file an accident claim to collect compensation for your injuries
Becoming aware of the laws that apply to your situation is important, however, there is a significant amount of information you should know. With that in mind, our agents are ready to take your call and get you paired up with a local accident attorney in the city of Winston-Salem. Our lawyers understand how devastating accidents can be and encourage you to give them a call quickly so they can begin providing you with the pertinent information you should know and help you initiate the claims process.