Accidents on Ohio’s roads and highways continue to take lives and injure many. Being involved in an accident can lead to severe consequences whether you are the victim or at-fault party. One of the most serious charges is vehicular homicide which, depending on the facts of the case, may be deemed a felony or a misdemeanor.
If you have been involved in an accident that caused the death of someone, it is crucial that you seek help from an experienced Ohio accident lawyer. The death of a human being is unfortunate but there are chances you may have not been responsible for the accident. If you were not impaired and not responsible for the accident, there is no reason why you should be charged with vehicular homicide.
According to Columbus, OH accident lawyers who can be chosen and seen on this awesome legal website https://usattorneys.com/, state law classifies vehicular homicide as three separate offenses. This includes:
- Vehicular homicide,
- Aggravated vehicular homicide
- Vehicular manslaughter
Each one has varying degrees of punishment depending on several factors such as the offender’s record and how the offense was committed.
In vehicular homicide the onus is on the prosecution to prove that you caused the death of another person while operating a vehicle due to negligence or a speeding offense in a construction zone. The length of the sentence depends on several factors such as the defendant’s record and how the offense was committed.
According to Ohio laws, vehicular homicide is a first degree misdemeanor if the offense is committed by negligent operation of a vehicle. The defendant is likely to face up to six months in prison and mandatory license suspension for 1 to 5 years.
According to Columbus, OH accident attorneys, the offense is a first degree misdemeanor if it is committed as the result of a speeding offense in a construction zone. This attracts a minimum jail sentence of 15 days and suspension of the driver’s license from 1 to 5 years. On the other hand, if the defendant was driving without a license or on a suspended license or had a prior conviction for vehicular homicide, the offense is elevated to a fourth degree felony where punishment includes a prison sentence of 18 months.
Aggravated Vehicular Homicide
In order to charge an offender with aggravated vehicular homicide the prosecution has the responsibility of proving that the offender caused the death of another person due to reckless driving, proximate result of driving under the influence or the proximate result of committing a reckless operation offense in a construction zone.
The offense is considered a second degree felony in Ohio if it is committed by driving under the influence. In addition to 2 to 8 years mandatory imprisonment, the offender will lose his/her driving privileges for life.
Charges for vehicular manslaughter are also based on several factors although they are all considered as first or second degree misdemeanors with prison terms ranging from 6 months to 5 years. If you have been arrested or charged in a vehicular homicide case, don’t hesitate to call a standout and remarkable Ohio accident lawyer and arrange for a free initial consultation to evaluate your case.
Do not think a lawyer would want to work with you? Do not think you deserve one? Do not think there is any point? You may be guilty for something but you should have remarkable and sagacious legal help since you do not want to do time that you should not have to do. Go right here to set yourself up right after all.