What happens if I get into an accident with no insurance in Oklahoma?
It is illegal to operate your vehicle in the state of Oklahoma without an effective auto insurance policy. Driving without insurance is not only going against the state Compulsory Insurance Law, but it also places you in a compromising position in the event you get into an auto accident. However, if you were involved in an accident in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma and you weren’t complying with state requirements, the state will give you temporary liability insurance coverage which must be replaced with an actual policy within 10 days. If you fail to obtain this policy within this timeframe, you are looking at the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $250.00.
- Not more than 30 days in prison, or both the fine and imprisonment.
- Your license and registration will be suspended for one year or until proof of current financial security is provided. Your vehicle may also be impounded.
- In the event your policy was canceled or you didn’t have one but are purchasing one, you will have to provide proof of your coverage, you will be charged a $275 reinstatement fee, $125 administrative free, and $175 modified driver’s license fee.
- Having a misdemeanor charge placed on your record.
[Source: Value Penguin].
Will I have to pay for personal injury damages if I caused an accident and didn’t have insurance?
Aside from being fined and even possibly jailed for not carrying minimum state insurance requirements in Oklahoma, you are also going to held liable for paying for the damages the accident brought on. This includes property damage and medical bills to treat the victim’s injuries. Without insurance, you could be looking at having to pay thousands of dollars out of pocket all because you weren’t carrying insurance.
While it is never advisable to drive without insurance coverage, some find themselves in these unfortunate positions where they simply aren’t able to afford it. If this is your case, we suggest that you get a free consultation scheduled with one of our accident and injury lawyers in Broken Arrow, OK just to become informed on what is to come and the other penalties you might be faced with. You may also want to consider hiring legal aid as they can help get some of the penalties reduced or even dismissed if you have adequate reasoning for not carrying insurance.
Being charged with driving without insurance will also affect your chances of getting an insurance policy.
Insurance companies base their rates on several different things including your past driving record and whether you are considered a high-risk driver. If an insurance company learns that you were charged for not carrying adequate coverage, they may deny you the chance to purchase a policy or hike your rates up far beyond what you can afford.
Getting into an accident is one dilemma but not having insurance is a whole other issue. You are going to have several parties coming after you and will benefit from having one of our Broken Arrow, OK accident attorneys representing and defending you throughout the duration of this matter. Give us a call today so we can get you placed in contact with a local attorney in your area.