Hit-and-run accidents in Florida increased by 23 percent in 2014.
Accident lawyer in Orlando, Florida discusses the basics of recovering compensation of a hit-and-run crash
Orlando, FL- A hit-and-run accident can create chaos in a victim’s life, leaving them overwhelmed with medical bills. Matters are worse because in many cases, the liable driver cannot be located because they fled the scene. In this article, USAttorneys will discuss some facts about hit-and-run crashes and how victims can recover compensation.
How common are hit-and-run accidents?
Unfortunately, recent data shows fatal hit-and-run accidents are on the rise nationwide. According to data from the National Highway Traffic Administration, fatal hit-and-run accidents increased nationwide by 13.7 percent between 2009 and 2013.
In Florida, the number of fatal hit-and-run accidents in Florida in 2014 rose 23 percent, the Insurance Journal reports. In total, there were 80,000 hit-and-run accidents in the Sunshine State in 2014.
Pedestrians make up 60 percent of fatal and hit-and-run victims.
Other facts about hit-and-run accidents
Six out of ten fatal hit-and-run crash victims are pedestrians, AAA reports.
The majority of hit-and-run accidents occur between 9 p.m. and 3 a.m.
Most hit-and-run accidents occur between 9 pm and 3 am.
Why do drivers flee the accident scene?
Drivers flee the scene of accidents they cause for several reasons. The at-fault driver may have an expired or suspended driver’s license, or they were driving without insurance. But, by far, drivers flee the scene of an accident because they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
In response to the number of hit-and-run accidents occurring in the Sunshine State, a recent law made it a second-degree felony to leave the scene of an accident which carries a four-year jail term. Drivers can also have their license revoked for three years.
How do I recover compensation?
If you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident in Florida, you don’t have to worry about your accident-related costs because of the state’s no-fault car insurance law. That law requires a victim to file their personal injury or wrongful death claim with their insurance company. Traffic accident victims must recover their medical costs, property repair costs and lost wages from their insurer and is only allowed to file a civil claim sue if they can meet the state’s serious injury threshold.
An accident lawyer can help you recover compensation for your hit-and-run accident.
At a minimum, Florida drivers are required to have $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) to cover their medical and other accident-related expenses. But, with the high cost of medical care, that amount may not be enough to cover all their expenses, even if they are involved in a minor accident. That is why our team of accident lawyers in Orlando recommend Florida motorists carry more coverage than the law requires.
If a hit-and-run driver injured you, you might find it difficult getting all the compensation you need to cover all your accident-related expenses. When you are filing a claim with your insurance company, you will benefit from having legal representation. An accident lawyer in Orlando, Florida will ensure you get a generous amount of compensation by negotiating with your insurance company.
Let USAttorneys connect you with a top-notch lawyer near you to work on you claim and maximize your final settlement. Get help with your accident claim today. Contact us today, and we can connect you with an attorney who you can count on to fight for your best interests.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.