Mobile, AL- If you drive a car, and do so regularly, chances are you are going to be involved in an accident at one point in time. If that accident was minor consider yourself lucky, but if your accident was serious you have the right to seek compensation for your medical expenses, loss of wages and emotional distress. So, it is important that Alabama accident victims understand the state’s personal injury laws.
At USAttorneys, we strongly urge traffic accident to contact an accident lawyer in Mobile, Alabama to discuss whether you are eligible for compensation and how you can get the amount you deserve. You can count on our team of accident lawyers to be honest and upfront about your case.
The first thing you need to know that there is a time limit on when you can file a personal injury or wrongful death suit called the statute of limitations. In Alabama, the statute of limitations for the accident victims is two years. Failing to file a claim within that time period will most likely lead to a dismissal of your case.
As a traffic accident victim, you may be eligible for compensation for your medical bills, rehabilitation, property damage or loss, loss of wages, permanent or temporary disability and mental anguish. Accident victims may also be eligible for punitive damages if the driver’s actions were considered grossly negligent when the actual accident happened. For example, a motorist who was texting and caused a fatal accident may be ordered to pay punitive damages.
Another important thing to note is that there are caps on damages in personal injury suits resulting from traffic accident, truck accidents and medical malpractice cases. In Alabama, punitive damages are capped at $1.5 million dollars. There is also a $100,000 cap for personal injury or wrongful death claims against a municipal, county or state entity.
Securing the amount of compensation you truly deserve relies on your ability to show who at fault and what actions led to your injuries. This can be quite the challenge since insurance companies work very hard to limit their liability in accident cases by placing the blame on you.
If you are partly to blame for an accident, you will not be able to recover damages from the at-faulty party. Alabama has what is called a “contributory negligence” rule. That rule forbids you from seeking damages for a personal injury if you played any role in an accident. It doesn’t matter if the other motorist was 98 percent liable for an accident, you cannot sue them. Instead you have to file a claim with your insurer.
Getting the compensation you deserve, depends on several different factors. Our team of accident attorneys understand the complexities involved with an accident suit and will work tirelessly to provide you with an effective injury claim. If you live in Mobile, Alabama we recommend you contact the law offices of Clay, Massey & Associates, P.C. They have been representing accident victims in Mobile and Baldwin County since 1972 so you can count in their experience.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.