Being injured after a car accident in Monroe, Louisiana can leave a person wondering what options they have available to receive compensation for their losses. No one wants to pay for the damages on their own, and for most people, it is impractical to pay thousands of additional dollars based on their current financial situation. It is for this reason that all drivers are expected to carry insurance in the event an accident occurs, and they are left with medical and property damage bills.
Anyone who gets into a collision should make sure they connect with an accident lawyer as soon as possible to ensure they receive their companion quickly, and to ensure they are not given a lower settlement offer then what they deserve. In Louisiana, any accident claim should be filed within a year of the accident occurring, however, it is always better to act as soon as possible so the chances of having one’s case accepted are increased significantly.
If a person got into a minor collision, they do not have to take any legal action. However, if the collision resulted in anyone getting hurt or the loss of life of a driver or passenger, it must be reported as soon as possible. Also, if there was property damage exceeding $500, the accident should be reported quickly as well. It is important to note that the statute of limitations that gives a person one year to file a claim does not apply for reporting. The accident should be reported to the police department with 24 hours of the crash and if this step is not undertaken, a person can be legally penalized for their lack of responsibility.
What are the legal car insurance requirements in Monroe, Louisiana?
Insurance coverage plays an important role in all accident cases, and drivers are expected to carry a specific amount of insurance according to the law to help them if they ever find themselves in a vehicle collision.
One’s insurance covers property damage, medical bills, and similar losses suffered by drivers and passengers. Drivers are expected to carry insurance of $25,000 for property damage, $15,000 for bodily injury or loss of life of one person, and $30,000 for loss of life or injury for everyone involved in the collision. This is just the bare minimum amount and it is always better to carry more insurance.
Drivers who are in an accident should call an accident lawyer to discuss their next legal steps and to better understand the legal process involved with receiving a settlement for the collision.
Get in touch with an accident lawyer at Campbell, House, and Company today.
Reach us at:
Monroe, LA Office
1815 Roselawn Ave
Monroe, LA 71201
Call Today: (318) 855-0285