Two crashed carsTyler, TX- The majority of Texans will be involved in a traffic accident at least once in their lifetime. If they are lucky, the accident will be minor and they can walk away with minor injuries, but too often a traffic accident is serious. Instead of walking away, the victims are rushed to the hospital and face a daunting recovery. These victims will understandably want to seek compensation from the individual who caused their injuries so they need to understand the state’s personal injury laws.
All states have what is called a statute of limitations which limits the amount of time an accident victim has to file a personal injury, wrongful death claim or medical malpractice claim. In Texas, the statute of limitations is two years, meaning you must file your claim within two years of the date of your accident or it is likely your claim could be denied.
If you have suffered injuries as a result of a traffic accident, USAttorneys urges you to contact an accident lawyer near their Texas location to discuss if they have a valid claim and what types of compensation they may be entitled to following their accident.
As an accident victim in you may be eligible for compensation to cover you medical and rehabilitation cost, property repair or replacement costs and compensation for your emotional distress. If your injuries leave you temporarily or permanently disabled, you may be entitled to compensation for your lost wages. In some cases, accident victims in Texas may be eligible to recover punitive damages which serve to punish the at-fault party was grossly negligent.
Many states place caps on the damages awarded in personal injury cases arising out of traffic or truck accidents. That is not the case in Texas; caps on damages apply only to medical malpractice claims.
If you were partly responsible for your accident, you can still recover compensation for an accident. Texas uses a “modified comparative fault” standard for these instances. Say for instance, you were 15 percent responsible for your accident, then the amount of compensation you finally receive will be reduced by that amount. If you were 50 percent responsible for an accident, you aren’t eligible for any compensation.
Getting the amount of compensation you deserve for your injuries depends on your ability to show negligence on behalf of the at-fault party. No one is more suited to do that than one of our accident lawyers in Tyler, Texas. They know the tricks an insurance company will use to limit the amount of compensation you are awarded and will work hard to ensure your case has a successful outcome. Don’t make the mistake of thinking you can handle your injury claim without legal help, otherwise you could deny yourself the compensation you deserve. Let us connect you with a lawyer who will be dedicated to your case and work tirelessly to get you the settlement amount you deserve.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.