There are several different roadway rules and laws that every driver must adhere to. Whether you own a motorcycle, car, truck, or van, safety is most important which is why so many laws apply when you are out driving.
Let’s take a look at some that cater to bikers.
There are certain laws all motorcycle riders in Texas must abide by to ensure the safety of themselves and others around are taken into account. It isn’t uncommon for a bike rider to engage in an accident in the state of Texas so it is important that these laws and requirements are abided by. Texas is currently second in line with the highest number of motorcyclists in the U.S.
If you have found yourself involved in an accident that was either caused by you or another motorist, don’t hesitate to contact one of our Laredo, Texas accident lawyers now. They can help you understand what is to come after a claim has been filed and even help you in the event you aren’t sure how to file it on your own.
There are many instances where motorcycle riders are blamed for roadway accidents and it is vital that the fault be placed on the appropriate driver who actually caused the accident. Our accident attorneys in Laredo are more than qualified to assist in getting this done.
Even if you are found guilty for causing the accident, you are still entitled to obtain legal aid as our Laredo accident lawyers can assure you aren’t going to be taken advantage of by the insurance company or forced to pay out more for damages than they are actually worth.
Motorcycle Q & A’s
What equipment must I have of my motorcycle in Laredo, Texas?
- Wheel assembly
- Exhaust system
- Tail lamp
- Stop lamp
- License plate lamp
- Rear red reflector
- Head lamp
If you are riding a moped, you must have a:
- Head lamp
- Rear lamp
Do I have to wear a helmet if I ride a motorcycle in Laredo?
While it is recommended that all bike riders wear a helmet to protect themselves in the event an accident occurs, there are certain individuals who are exempt from having to do so.
For instance, those who are at least 21 years of age are exempt from having to wear a helmet if they have completed a Department-approved Motorcycle Operator Training Course or they are carrying at least $10,000 in medical insurance says ridetexas.com.
What other motorcycle laws are currently active in Laredo, Texas?
- A passenger on a motorcycle must be at least five years old.
- Any passenger under the age of 21 must wear a helmet while riding.
- Anyone operating a motorcycle must have a bike that is equipped with a permanent passenger seat in order to have someone ride with them.
While the laws are expected to help keep you and others safe who ride motorcycles, sometimes accidents are unable to be prevented. Therefore, if you are the victim of a crash or are looking for legal aid to help with your accident case, give us a call. Rather than deal with the confusion and stress that comes along with the claims process, our accident lawyers in Laredo, TX can step in and assist.