The Chesapeake, Virginia accident attorneys featured on USAttorneys.com are qualified to help anyone suffering from a debilitating injury regain control over their incident and collect what is rightfully due to them.
Accidents happen in various ways and there are certain state laws that affect how you are paid and what amount you should be paid. It all depends on your accident and the circumstances surrounding it. For instance, a claim filed for a work-related accident is going to differ from a claim that is filed by the family of a deceased worker who was killed while on the job.
The best way to understand how your accident claim should be handled and what you are entitled to is by speaking with one of our accident lawyers in Chesapeake and allowing them to provide you with all the pertinent information you will need. There is so much that transpires after an accident, whether it be an auto collision, a work incident, or even a slip and fall at the store and we want you to be prepared. Our accident lawyers can provide you with advice on how to deal with the claims process as well as with the insurance carrier that might be responsible for compensating you and possibly your family.
What am I entitled to collect if my loved one was killed in a work-related accident in Chesapeake?
Unfortunately, these accidents do occur and are more common in the field of construction as well as those that hire roadway workers. If you have recently lost a loved one and have hit a point where you aren’t really sure as to what to do, we can help you. Maybe you lost your spouse whom you and your children were dependent on. Perhaps your spouse was paying all the bills while you were out of work? Either scenario leads to a significant amount of pain and misfortune as it is never easy to get over a lost life of someone we love.
While there is nothing that can be done to bring your loved one back, their employer is expected to provide you with the compensation that can help ease you and your family through this process.
According to Virginia Code § 65.2-512, an employer is expected to compensate dependents of an employee who were killed in their line of work. If the employee died within nine years from when the accident transpired and their death was directly linked to the accident, the dependents should receive:
- Compensation in weekly payments equal to 66 2/3 percent of the employee’s average weekly wages. This amount cannot go below 25 percent of the average weekly wage the employee was making.
- If you and your family were wholly dependent on the deceased employee, you should receive compensation for a period of 500 weeks from the date of the injury.
Will the employer cover burial expenses?
The employer of the deceased should cover burial expenses not exceeding $10,000 as well as reasonable transportation for the deceased not exceeding $1,000.
It is important that accident victims and families of those who lose their life receive what they are entitled to. Sometimes, employers and even insurance companies aren’t up front with what they should be paid which is why you need a Chesapeake, VA accident lawyer to ensure you aren’t being taken advantage of and that your family is properly compensated.