Workers’ Compensation Timeline for Injured Virginia Workers
If you live in the city of Newport News, VA and you either suffered a work-related injury or contracted a disease, there is a timeline of events that should be followed so that you can obtain the benefits you are entitled to under the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act. Below is a breakdown of how this timeline should flow.
- Report your injury or illness to your employer no later than 30 days from the date the accident occurred or within 30 days from when you received confirmation from your physician that you have suffered a work-related injury.
- Your employer will file a report of the accident with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission within 10 days after being notified.
- You should also file a claim with the Commission so they can become aware of the incident and ensure your rights as a Texas employee are protected. If you would like assistance with this, our accident attorneys in Newport News, Virginia would be glad to provide their help to you.
- You should then receive additional information from the Commission that will include a Jurisdiction Claim Number (JCN) and a “PIN” number that will provide you with access to your file using their WebFile site.
How can I file my workers’ compensation claim with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission?
You have several options when trying to file a workers’ compensation claim through the Commission. These options include:
- In person: You must complete the Claim for Benefits Form and drop it off to the one of the locations listed below:
- 1000 DMV Drive, Richmond, VA 23220
- 425 State Street, Suite 200, Bristol, VA 24201
- Prosperity Plaza, 3020 Hamaker Court, Suite 100, Fairfax, VA 22031
- 41 Court Square, Suite B, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
- Sudley Tower, 7900 Sudley Road, Suite #500, Manassas, VA 20109
- Tanglewood West, 3959 Electric Rd SW, Suite 425, Roanoke, VA 24018
- 281 Independence Boulevard, Suite 310, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
- Through the mail: Complete the same form and send it to:
Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission
1000 DMV Drive
Richmond, Virginia 23220
- By fax- You can fax the required form to 804-367-6124
- By WebFile- You will need your JCN and PIN number to create an account and will then be permitted to file your claim with the Commission using their online site.
Some important things you might want to be aware of
If you fail to report your injury that resulted from a work accident within 30 days after it occurred or you became aware of the injury, your workers’ compensation claim could be denied. You are also required to provide the Commission with your current residential address and report any changes to this address in a timely manner. If you fail to do so, this could negatively impact you receiving your workers’ compensation benefits.
Should you have any other questions regarding workers’ comp, our accident lawyers in Newport News, Virginia can answer these for you. It is important that you are aware of your rights as an injured worker in Newport News and we want to find you the right legal aid that assure these rights are protected.