After an individual has been involved in an accident with a drunk driver in Montgomery, AL, there are two things they are likely concerned with:
- Their condition and ability to recover.
- How the driver is going to be punished for their reckless behavior.
After an individual has been involved in an accident with an impaired driver, they are likely focused on their health and wellbeing. They probably want to know what their chances are of recovering and whether they will be left suffering from certain conditions as a result of the accident.
The next thing a drunk driving accident victim is likely concerned with is how the driver who caused the collision is going to be punished. Will they be sent to jail or required to pay the victim to make up for the harm they caused them? Will they get to walk away from the incident without having to serve any consequences? These are all valid concerns and can be best answered by a Montgomery, AL drunk driving accident lawyer.
While the penalties a drunk driver will face will depend on the charges they are convicted of, it can’t hurt to become informed on how the State of Alabama generally punishes those who drive intoxicated as they could potentially face these penalties or even harsher ones.
Penalties for Driving Drunk in Alabama
If an individual is found guilty of operating their vehicle above the legal limit, they could be charged with driving under the influence, or DUI. The legal limit is currently set at 0.08% for drivers who are 21 years of age and older, 0.02% for drivers who are under the age of 21, and 0.04% for drivers who operate a commercial motor vehicle.1 It is worth noting that drivers might also be charged with DUI if they are found guilty of operating their vehicle while impaired even if their blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) level is below the legal limit.
If an individual is convicted of DUI in Alabama, they could face the following penalties if it is their first offense:
- Having to serve a prison sentence of up to one year.
- Having to pay a fine of at least $600, but no more than $2,100.
- Having their driver’s license suspended for 90 days.
- Having to complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program.
- Have an interlock ignition device installed in their vehicle.
Now, these are only the penalties a first-time DUI offender will likely face if they are convicted of the crime. When an individual is charged with DUI and they caused an accident that resulted in injuries, the penalties will only increase.
Holding an Impaired Driver Accountable for Their Reckless Behavior
If a drunk driving accident victim is looking to hold an impaired driver accountable for their poor choices, they can contact USAttorneys.com for help. USAttorneys.com will get them connected with a Montgomery, AL drunk driving accident attorney who can assess their case and determine how much the negligent driver should pay them for the damage they caused.