Just like in most other states, driving without the proper insurance can land a driver in serious trouble with the law. As stated in the Mississippi Code section 63-15-4, individuals who drive without proof of insurance can easily face a misdemeanor conviction. In this conviction, they may have to pay $500 in fines. Not only can they face a charge as well be compelled to pay money, but they can further have their driving privileges suspended for up to a year. If a person can prove that they are properly insured, then they may have their permission to drive regranted to them again before the year is over.
On top of these legal penalties, if a person gets into a car accident without insurance then they will find themselves in an exceedingly difficult financial situation trying to cover all their damages on their own. Anyone who gets into an accident with an uninsured driver should call an accident lawyer shortly after the collision so they can explore their legal options. A lawyer will give proper advice that is relevant to a person’s case and guide them on who they should contact and what evidence they will need to get their settlement.
It is no secret that getting into an accident can be overly expensive. Drivers and passengers often must deal with serious injuries that lead to heavy medical bills, alongside extensive property damage that can take thousands of dollars to repair. A person should not have to deal with the financial headache of recovering the damages while trying to mentally and physically recover from the trauma that was just experienced. This is why it is highly recommended that they connect with an accident lawyer as soon as they get a chance, so they can get the legal help they need during this difficult time.
Car insurance requirements in Jackson, Mississippi
Mississippi has a compulsory automobile liability insurance system that describes that every driver must register for insurance and they must carry the proof of their insurance with them in the vehicle. Drivers are expected to have a minimum of:
- $25,000 of liability coverage for bodily injury or loss of life for one person
- $50,000 of liability coverage for total bodily injury or loss of life
- $25,000 of liability coverage for property damage
Drivers must carry this liability coverage as it is used towards paying medical bills, property damage costs, and other financial losses faced by the victims involved. Individuals should make sure they call an attorney if they get into an accident with an uninsured driver as matters can get legally complex when such a situation arises.
Get in touch with an accident lawyer from the Heilman Law Group today to discuss how compensation can be received after facing damages in a collision.
Reach us at:
4266 I-55 North
Jackson, Mississippi 39211