How do Michigan’s no-fault insurance laws affect the car accident claims process?

Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is a type of insurance coverage that can be used in the event an individual is involved in an accident with a driver who is not insured. Although the State of Wyoming does require drivers to carry certain types and limits of auto insurance, some choose not to comply with their state’s laws.


Is uninsured motorist coverage required in the State of Wyoming?


Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional coverage drivers can purchase, and it can be used to help pay for the following if someone engages in a collision with an uninsured driver in Wyoming:

  • Pay for medical expenses. If a driver was hit by an uninsured motorist and they suffered injuries, they could file a UM claim and potentially recover compensation to pay for some or all of their medical bills.
  • Property damage. UM coverage might also help pay for the vehicle repairs an accident victim needs.


Drivers should be aware that they can only recover up to the limits they purchased when they file a UM claim. This means if a driver purchased a policy that pays $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident and their medical bills amounted to more, they may need to come out of pocket to cover any remaining amount the insurer won’t pay.


What if a driver doesn’t want to pay out of pocket for a crash they didn’t cause?


Drivers who aren’t responsible for causing a collision shouldn’t have to pay for the accident-related expenses they incurred. However, if they engage in a collision with an uninsured motorist and they only purchased the minimum amount of UM coverage that is available, there is a chance they may be left with some unpaid bills.

In the event a motorist exhausts their insurance coverage after an accident with an uninsured motorist and they still have unpaid bills, they may be able to bring a lawsuit against the responsible party. If an individual is seeking $5,000 or less, they would file their case with Wyoming small claims court. If they are seeking more than $5,000, then a Wyoming accident lawyer will determine which court an individual needs to file their lawsuit with.

While insurance might only cover medical bills and property damage, a lawsuit allows an injured party to seek compensation for any of the following that apply:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Mental anguish
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of consortium


Accidents involving uninsured drivers aren’t uncommon as the Insurance Research Council estimates that one in eight drivers aren’t carrying insurance.1 If a driver recently engaged in a collision in Wyoming with an uninsured motorist and they have questions regarding how they can recover compensation for their injuries and losses, they can contact Frederick J. Harrison, P.C. to speak with a Wyoming accident attorney.


Frederick J. Harrison, P.C. can be reached at:


301 West Lincolnway

Cheyenne, WY 82001

Phone: (307) 316-1760