In the state of Louisiana, drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of insurance coverage so that if they are ever involved in an accident, they are protected and their insurance will cover the damage the wreck has caused. Now, as you probably already know, there are a multitude of insurance coverages available for drivers in LA and each plays a different role. However, just because these coverages exist doesn’t mean you must purchase them. In fact, motorists in LA are only required to carry the following types of coverage:
- Liability Coverage– Each vehicle a LA resident owns must have the following dollar limits set for this particular type of coverage: $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident, and $25,000 coverage for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property.
[Source: Louisiana Department of Insurance].
While some choose to only carry what the state requires of them, others opt to increase their limits or even purchase additional coverage, especially if they live in an area where accidents are prone to occur. The reality is, we never know when an accident might occur and it is always good to be prepared for these unexpected moments.
Now, as we mentioned, there are several types of additional coverage available to purchase, however, if you are carrying the minimum limits which are required by law, you should be protected from being sued although there are some things you should know regarding this.
- Just because your liability insurance coverage is available to pay for the damage the accident has caused to the other driver, they aren’t prohibited from taking legal action against you. In most cases, a victim of a crash will file a civil lawsuit if they aren’t able to recover the amount they deem appropriate for the damage that arose from the wreck. Therefore, you may need to hire a car accident lawyer if you are being sued by another motorist if you feel you shouldn’t be held liable for the amounts they are demanding be paid to them. While some drivers do actually have viable grounds to file a civil lawsuit, there are others who might attempt to collect more than they are entitled to and will go to great lengths just to recover these funds. Therefore, you will want to assess the accident to determine whether the victim did suffer the damages they claim or are attempting to get paid on your behalf.
- If you were to engage in a collision with a driver who was uninsured, the “No Pay, No Play” law prevents them from collecting the first $25,000 in property damages and the first $15,000 in personal injuries regardless of who causes the accident. Therefore, if they were to attempt to sue you and they weren’t properly insured, they would have a difficult time collecting amounts that are less than or equal to those limits stipulated above.
Now, because insurance coverage isn’t a guarantee that you won’t face a lawsuit for causing an accident, it is always a good idea to speak with an experienced Alexandria, LA car crash lawyer to find out what rights you have. It would also be in your best interest to speak with a legal professional if you received notice that you are being sued. So, if you are facing either circumstance and would like to schedule a consultation where you can get your questions answered and learn more about what steps you should be taking.